top of page

So I was thinking... Excuses.

Excuses. I’m so over them. I’ve realized that we have every ability to live out the destiny that God has planned for our lives. So why do we make so many excuses to hinder ourselves from all that God has in store for us? "Many are the plans in the mind of a man, but it is the purpose of the Lord that will stand." (‭Proverbs‬ ‭19‬:‭21‬ ESV) For me personally, I have a lot of past shame and regret I too often wallow in. I use those nasty feelings to make excuses to justify living outside of God’s instruction. It’s easy for me to start down the excuse path, then before I know it, I’m defeated. I feel so lazy when this happens because I know it ends in horror, and I don’t stop it. Bla bla you deserve this abuse… Bla bla no one loves you… Bla bla you’ll never be the Godly woman you want to be… Bla bla you can’t be used mightily, just look how messed up your family is… Bla bla you’re not intelligent… Bla bla no one has issues like you… Bla bla you can’t lead your company… Bla bla why even try? You’re going to fail… Bla bla you don’t deserve blessings… Bla bla you’re not beautiful… Bla bla so and so unfollowed you on Twitter… Bla bla you don’t make enough money… Any of this sound familiar? Bam. After projecting those excuses over my life like prophesy, the next step is to make a bad decision. Sometimes one, sometimes several. Sometimes decisions that I still have to heal from to this day. The enemy loves to pounce on me in this state. Sadly, I’ve lived many lukewarm Christian years this way - justifying my actions with excuse after excuse…which turned into lie after lie…which I then began to believe. "For the one who sows to his own flesh will from the flesh reap corruption, but the one who sows to the Spirit will from the Spirit reap eternal life."(‭Galatians‬ ‭6‬:‭8‬ ESV) Enough is enough. We have the power to utilize every single negative in our past to unlock a strength in us. Those weaknesses (the messed up parts) literally become testaments of God’s power, grace, deliverance, and unlimited love. I know we all have past, present, and future pain and regrets. Thankfully, we can repent and God’s grace is sufficient for us. Let’s not use grace as an excuse to get off course. Let’s not distract ourselves with excuses to derail our destiny. "But by the grace of God I am what I am, and his grace toward me was not in vain." (‭1 Corinthians‬ ‭15‬:‭10‬ ESV) If we can Google Ebola, Croc Pot Recipes, and Kim Kardashian’s latest outfit - surely we can research spiritual support in areas where we are weak. No more excuses. Jesus didn’t make them. God didn’t make excuses when He saved you or picked you as His kid. What if this week we shifted our focus from excuses to strengths? From excuses to testimonies? From excuses to freedom? From excuses to purpose? We are more than conquerors. "Yet amid all these things we are more than conquerors and gain a surpassing victory through Him Who loved us." (‭Romans‬ ‭8‬:‭37‬ AMP) You got this. (Because you got God in you!) @aprilswaine

Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page